22

Untitled

I am a notoriously terrible mail correspondent, but for quite a few years there, I defied my reputation and sent Christmas cards out reliably. And not just cards, no; starting in 1999 (the year my first baby was born), I also tucked into each envelope a crafty little photo magnet. It was a good idea, always well received, and I regret not keeping up with it. I haven’t mailed any cards in a few years. I did think maybe, maybe, I’d try again this year. But I worry it’s been too long, that we aren’t really ‘fridge’ status anymore for my old mailing list. So I didn’t send cards and I don’t know if I ever will again. How final of me! I certainly receive fewer holiday cards than I used to- is that from a lack of reciprocation or a general dwindling of the tradition? Who knows. My letterbox is always full of the usual: bills and mortgage refinance offers, the odd catalog, insurance benefit reports. How much do I love finding a handwritten card instead? I should trust that if I were to mail out cards again, those on the other end would be similarly pleased.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “22

  1. Deb

    I finally got a chance to catch up on the last few weeks’ worth of posts and I have to tell you, I am LOVING F’s drawings! Has she thought about pursuing a career as a children’s book illustrator? I could totally see her as the next Jan Brett.

    • while she does still draw some cute stuff (like this these advent pictures) she does a lot of creepy stuff, too. but i wish she’d write AND illustrate children’s books. i’ll pass along the compliment. thanks, deb.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.